How to convert the FAA CPL(A) into EASA ATPL(A)?

In order to convert an FAA Commercial Pilot License to EASA, students have to pass the EASA ATPL written exam in Europe and take the practical training including the exams for the Instrument Rating and CPL+MEP.

Ground training

During ATPL(A) Ground training the applicant has to go through ground training covering:

  • Air law and ATC procedures
  • Airframes & systems, electrics, powerplant, emergency equipment
  • Instrumentation
  • Mass and balance
  • Performance
  • Flight planning & monitoring
  • Human performance & limitations
  • Meteorology
  • General navigation
  • Radio navigation
  • Operational procedures
  • Principles of flight
  • Communications (VFR+IFR)

2. Flight Training

The flight training takes 76 hours dual flight instruction in total and consists of the following modules:

  • Instrument Rating – IR(A) – 50 hours (4 weeks)
  • Multi Engine Piston – MEP(A) – 11 hours (1 week)
  • Commercial Pilot License – CPL(A) – 15 hours (1 week)

3. Theoretical Examinations

For ATPL(A) – The applicant has to demonstrate the theoretical knowledge in form of 14 written tests. Students must pass all required written exams of the frozen ATPL(A) before taking any practical exams for the IR and CPL+MEP. The written exams of the frozen ATPL(A) include the written exams for the IR and CPL+MEP.
For ATPL(A) – An applicant must demonstrate level of knowledge appropriate to the privileges of the holder of an ATPL(A) in accordance with EASA requirements in Part-FCL.

4. Practical Examinations

The practical skill exams in the airplane with the examiner can be taken after successful completion of the written tests (EASA ATPL(A) written exam).
The applicant must demonstrate the ability to:

  • Operate the airplane within its limitations
  • Complete all maneuvers as smooth and as accurate as requested by EASA
  • Exercise good judgment and airmanship
  • Apply aeronautical knowledge
  • Maintain control of the airplane at all times.

Recommended Posts